Author’s Corner: Danielle Sibarium

We first met Danielle Sibarium when she contacted us about reviewing her first book For Always. We quickly fell in love with her writing and rushed to read her second book Heart Waves. We fell in love with Jordan from For Always and Reece from Heart Wave. We honored both by choosing them to be our boyfriend of the week. Ever since we finished reading Heart Waves we have been counting down the days until Breaking Wave was released. Our wait is finally over. We will bring you our review of Breaking Wave in February when it’s our turn to host Danielle’s blog tour. Until then we are excited to bring to you our interview with Danielle Sibarium.

danielle

For those who don’t know, what is Breaking Waves about?

Breaking Waves is the sequel to Heart Waves. From the moment they met, Jenna knew Reece would break her heart, but she never dreamed it would happen like this. Jenna is left shattered and broken. When life becomes too painful to deal with and she feels completely alone, there’s only one person to help her pick up the pieces and move on. The one person she doesn’t want to turn to. The one person she promised to stay away from. Tyler.

Can Jenna put aside everything she knows about him and let Tyler help heal her broken heart?

What was your inspiration for this series?

A long time ago when I first started writing For Always I thought this was the story I wanted to write, Reece and Jenna had been friends since childhood and I needed backstory.  As I created the backstory I realized they were two different books. I continued For Always with Stephanie and Jordan, made them meet when she was young, and held off on the idea of Heart Waves. When I started writing this series, I wanted Reece and Jenna to meet for the first time when they were older.

Are any of the characters or the story based on any real people or events?

Little things in series are based on real people and events. The instant connection Jenna and Reece feel is based on my husband and I and the first time we met. The Point Pleasant setting is real. I loved spending summers there. The little beach Jenna goes to in Heart Waves was one of my favorite places to go to on summer nights, the boardwalk another.                .

What advice would you give Jenna about love?

Love can be a double-edged sword but it’s not something you can do half way.

Who was your favorite character to develop?

This might be cheating, because it’s really based on Heart Waves, but so far in the series I had the most fun with Reece. I often found myself smiling while writing the scenes between Reece and Jenna in Heart Waves.

The biggest surprise for me was Tyler.  He was just supposed to be mentioned in Heart Waves, but he intrigued me and his role grew until he became an integral part of the entire series.

When did you become interested in writing?

I fell in love with writing literally as I learned to write. I remember the day I learned about brainstorming in first grade. I went to a birthday party later that day and lost a game of Hot Potato because my mind was preoccupied with the idea of brainstorming. I envisioned a topic with a brain spitting out all sorts of words related to it. It was an actual storm of ideas. How cool! Right then and there I was hooked. In the sixth grade we were required to write one creative writing every month. My teacher would often read my stories out loud to the class, and my classmates enjoyed them. I knew then whatever my future held; writing would be a part of it.

Do you have any writing rituals?

Basically I try to find some quite time and a quiet place in the house.

What word do you always have trouble spelling correctly?

I always spell lose wrong. Always!

What author or book inspired you to write YA?

I’d have to say the Twilight and Immortal series’ inspired me to write YA. For Always had been written for years. But I really didn’t know where it belonged. It wasn’t for children, but I wasn’t sure how adults would respond to it. I entered it in a contest as a single title contemporary and won Honorable Mention (It had a different title at the time). After that I shelved it for about six years. Seeing the excitement of this new YA genre, I decided to pull For Always out, give it a facelift and change it to YA.

Which authors inspire you today?

There are so many authors that inspire me. Authors I read, as well as authors in my writing group. What truly inspires me is the camaraderie I’ve found amongst authors on Twitter. There are many authors that help promote and help each other. It is a community I am proud to be part of.

What advice do you have for anyone who would like to be an author?

Read incessantly, write daily, and revise, revise, revise. Write what you are passionate about, not what you think the market is currently dictating. Markets change. Be open to the ever fluid times. The publishing industry has and will continue to transform. We have not seen the finished product, so don’t get hung up on the traditional ideals.

What are you working on now?

Aside from the final book in the Heart Waves series, I am also working on a single title NA Contemporary Romance.  This book is a tuff stuff book that deals with date rape and the aftermath.  And no the romance isn’t between the heroine and the rapist. Just wanted to clarify. I’m very excited about this book.

And our final question, if you could have one superpower which one would it be?

I’d want to fly. I don’t really know why, but I think it would be amazing to leap and take off, not having to fall back down to earth, and be weightless, just soar through the air, silent, out of the detection and to the surprise of most people.

We would like to thank Danielle for a wonderful interview.

Check out Breaking Waves now available on Amazon.com

Breaking Waves Final

Other books by Danielle Sibarium:

   20120702-175339.jpg  20120611-121556.jpg

3 thoughts on “Author’s Corner: Danielle Sibarium

We Want to Hear From You

